The organization role determines if a user can adjust organization settings, create projects, or manage users. Every user must be assigned a role in the organization. Each new user is set to a Basic user by default.
There are three different roles in an organization, however this article will also cover cross-organization users :
|Access organization settings|
|Add users to org|
|Remove users from org|
|Manage cross-organization policy|
|Automatically added to all projects|
|Creator rights on all projects owned by the organization||Creator rights on all projects they have access to|
|Create projects||Create projects|
|Manage users in a project they have access to||Manage users in a project they have access to|
|Edit user project role||Edit user project role|
|View projects they have access to||View projects they have access to||View projects they have access to|
Admin oversee the organization. They have access to the organization settings and project settings to manage user roles, project rights, and cross-organization sharing policies. Admin can create projects and are automatically added to every organization-owned project with Creator rights. They cannot be removed from a project and their project rights cannot be downgraded.
Project Managers can create projects for the organization and are added to any project they create. However, they are not automatically added to all projects. With access to a project, a project manager will always have Creator rights and can modify the project settings. This includes adding and removing users or changing project roles. The rights can not be downgraded unless they are completely removed from a project.
A Basic user cannot change any organization setting. The user must be manually added to a project. Once added to a project the basic user receives Viewer rights by default, but this can be upgraded in the project settings. They can view project settings, but cannot edit the settings or user project rights.
After adding the Cross-Organization to your Sharing Policy, a Cross-Organization user will be available to add to a project. A Cross-Organization user is treated similarly to a basic user. They can never view or edit project settings. They must be manually added to a project and will receive Viewer rights by default. This is regardless of the user's role in their home organization.